Shafi Noor Islam

Assistant Professor
Universiti Brunei Darussalam

Shafi Noor Islam, PhD (Candidate for Dr. rer. nat. habil.) is an Assistant Professor, In the Department of Geography, Development and Environmental Studies, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (FASS), Universiti Brunei Darussalam (UBD), Brunei Darussalam. He is also a member (Consultant) of Technical Expert Monitoring Committee of Development Projects of BEDB, Ministry of Industry, Prime Minister’s Office, Government of Brunei Darussalam. 

Dr. Islam has selected as honourable Member of Coastal Education and Research Foundation (CERF), Florida, USA for 2017. He hold PhD in Environmental and Resource Management. He was working as Lecturer in the Master Programme Urban Management Studies, at the Technical University of Berlin, and Lecturer of Euro Aquae Hydro-Informatics of Erasmus Mondus Master’s Programme at the Brandenburg University of Technology Cottbus, Germany. He also worked as visiting lecturer at the Halmstad University, Sweden. He has Post-Doctoral research experience on Food Security and presently is the candidate of Habilitation (Dr.rer.nat.habil.) research degree on the topic “Ecosystem Services and Food Security under Threat in the Mega Deltas of Asian Coastal Regions: An Analysis on the Ganges-Brahmaputra-Meghna Delta”, in the Chair of Ecosystems and Environmental Informatics, at the Brandenburg University of Technology Cottbus-Senftenberg, Germany. His main activities are in interdisciplinary water resource research on water salinity and mangrove ecosystems modelling. Wetlands and coastal resource management as well as climate change impacts on food security and ecosystem services are his focus research fields. Transboundary water and char-land management strategies, encompassing groundwater quality and urban water supply, ecology management are some subjective interests. He has published over 70 articles in international journals and books.

He has research experiences in Bangladesh, China, Nepal, Bhutan, India, Malaysia, Indonesia, Qatar, Algeria, Germany, Poland, Denmark, Italy, Monaco, Belgium, Spain, France, the Netherlands, Sweden, Finland, Switzerland, Hungary, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Austria, Albania, Honduras, Guatemala, El Salvador, Brazil, Mexico and in Brunei Darussalam.